“Lay where you’re laying…this sex is on fire.”

I am lying in bed slightly hungover reviewing my latest music downloads/addition to my collection. I am beginning to understand why I hadn’t previously downloaded the entire Les Miserables album. The latest and greatest from the Kings of Leon is definitely something that my Ipod has been missing though; it’s a whole new sound for them. I may keep “Sex on Fire” on repeat for the next series of days. They sound less hard and more indie, but it’s a good edge for them. It’s nice to have a solid album to listen to that I won’t be ridiculed for –> re: Coldplay, Viva la Vida or Death and All of His Friends. They are universally loved and thus “too mainstream” to be discussed around any of my hipster friends. But come on…how can you deny the appeal of “Lovers in Japan/Reign of Love” or “Strawberry Swing?” They’re lyrically and melodically en point. Other noteworthy additions (singles): “If You Seek Amy” (Britney Spears), “Untouched” (The Veronicas), “No More” (Ruff Endz…throwback to the 90s, I know), and Anberlin’s “Never Take Friendship Personal” and “Blueprints for the Black Market” albums; I used to have them and have been missing their style of rock in my life. Check out “Paperthin Hymn,” “Amsterdamn” and “The Feel Good Drag” from the first and “Love Song” and “Naive Orleans” from the second.

Leave a Reply

