“This isn’t a democracy. It’s a cheerocracy.”


I am three days into sorority rush and my patience is disappearing even faster than my voice is. Round Robbins are done, but we still have themes, house tours, and prefs ahead of us. I don’t think that I realized last year just how much effort our house puts into rush. It’s worth it in the end, but at the mo, the speed dating/girl flirting/beyond fake conversations are KILLING me. The average convo goes something like this:

[me]: *feigned enthusiasm* Hey! How are you!
[rushee]: OMG I am so so so awesome! I just love rush it is soooo fun!
[me]: *skeptical but with enthusiasm* Really?
[rushee]: Ya! I totes don’t even feel the freezing cold weather. I just love meeting all of yall and talking to new people. It’s the best.
[me]: Uh huh. So what do you do around campus?
[rushee]: *acting as though they haven’t planned/fabricated their answers* I am just sooo into philanthropy. I just really like people, and kids, and animals, and plants, and everything! Ya. Also, I am pre-med!
[me]: *vomit a little in my mouth, imagine rushee bald and interesting* Ok well…it was nice meeting you.

I know. Ew. There are some fantastically uninteresting/superficial girls coming through rush. Rush in and of itself is a totally unnatural process. It is to be expected, but that doesn’t make it any easier to stomach. Oh well…it’s all downhill from here.

Leave a Reply

