“My Bloody Valentine 2D”

Note to self: movies that are advertised as 3D should only be seen in 3D. That’s their gimmick, their “thing,” and the only way they’re worth watching. Watching My Bloody Valentine, I can see how, in the theater, with the goofy 3D glasses on, this might have been a thrilling scary movie. But without those goofy glasses or the 3D DVD, the movie falls short. Jamie King’s beautiful, but who is she kidding? She can’t hold up a movie any better than Tara Reid or Amy Smart. This is hardly a ahoking revelation, but had to be said. While working my way through my Netflix queue this summer, my tolerance for shitty [horror] movies has substantially decreased. My faith in the strength of the genre falters after enduring Walled In, The Unborn, The Uninvited, Vacancy, The Uninvited, the abomination that was The Haunting of Molly Hartley & now My Bloody Valentine. I’m hoping that going to see Orphan will restore my faith in scary movies.

Leave a Reply

